Sur ce site

Sur le Web du CNRS

  • Trombinoscope

    Accès restreint

  • Accueil du site >

    Corinne LIONNE/Konstantin BRODOLIN - Bacterial Enzymes and Antibiotic Resistance

    Antibiotic-resistant bacteria have become a serious threat to public health worldwide. Among the most worrisome problems is the spreading of multi-drug resistant forms of the pathogen responsible for tuberculosis. It has infected almost one third of the world population and continues to kill 1.5 million people each year. Meanwhile, the number of new antibiotics approved for clinical use is constantly decreasing. Development of new therapeutic strategies necessitates studies of the resistance mechanisms and the identification of new drug targets. In this context, our studies are aimed at (1) deciphering molecular mechanism of action the antibiotics targeting two vital processes in the cell : transcription and translation ; (2) understanding the defense mechanisms employed by pathogenic bacteria to survive antibiotic treatment ; and (3) finding new antibacterial molecules. In parallel, an "historical" project of the team aims at searching for allosteric inhibitors of human 5’-nucleotidases in the context of anticancer therapies, especially in the case of hematological malignancies for which these enzymes are responsible of the resistance to specific treatments.

    The Team

    Group leaders : Corinne LIONNE & Konstantin BRODOLIN

    Composition of the team (July 2015)

    Corinne LIONNE – Research Director CNRS, HDR
    Konstantin BRODOLIN – Senior Scientist INSERM, HDR
    Laurent CHALOIN – Senior Scientist CNRS, HDR
    Zakia MORICHAUD – Assistant Engineer CNRS
    Rishi VISHWAKARMA – Post-doctorant fellow
    Funding : Infectiopôle Sud
    Elise KAPLAN – PhD student University of Montpellier
    Funding : Fondation pour la Recherche Médicale
    Rahila RAHIMOVA – PhD student University of Montpellier
    Funding : Erasmus Mundus programme EUROEAST
    Ayyappasamy SUDALAIYADUM PERUMAL – PhD student University of Montpellier
    Funding : Erasmus Mundus programme SVAAGATA

    Lire la suite

    Directeur de la Publication : J.M. Mesnard - Comité Editorial : S. Kohler, P. Diamante,